ParentingFUNdas

Review Of Shalom Hills International School, Sushant Lok 1, Gurgaon

Posted on: March 8, 2010


Shalom Hills International School

Add: Sushant Lok 1, Gurgaon, Haryana

Phone: 0124-4046471, 2573076, 9312883944

Email: shalomhills@gmail.com

Email: info@shalomhills.com

Website http://www.shalomhills.com/

From: toddlers to class 8th. CBSE board

Review

One word that came to my mind when I visited this school was – professionalism. Either the teacher ( Ms Arshi) [who was assigned the task of answering parent’s queries] received too many queries each day or she had more work to be done on that day, because she was answering all our queries without us asking them! Nothing bad I would say.

Rather she detailed us about each and everything right from school’s affiliation (CBSE), student-teacher ration ( 1:10 in primary), the school’s cut off for admissions ( 3+ for nursery till September 30 this year), classes referred to as Montessori 1, Mont 2 and Mont 3 ( for pre-nursery, nursery and kg) though the school doesn’t really adhere to “Montessori” teaching methods alone. ( though I wanted to ask, why are you referring to them as Mont 1. 2. 3 then?..just to be different from other schools?)

The fee structure was roughly 3k plus approx every month ( apart from a lump sum of 50 k as admission fee for toddler and play schoolers) However, for all parents who are into transferable job, they have an option of paying 10k as admission fee for 1st two years apart from the tuition fee.

The school building was really wonderful, neat, clean and a great piece of architecture. It does feel peaceful to go in the building ( that does have tough security at gate and you fee safe to send your child in such environment).

Here is what I found on Internet regarding this school from various websites:

“i’ve been associated with shalom hills school for past 4 years (that’s how old the school is) as my daughter is studying there. initially what attracted me to the school was it’s thematic painted rooms and it being close by to my home. in all these years, putting a few teething problems aside; i think i made the right decision for my darling daughter. right from the director to the teachers, everyone is very supportive and encouraging. they are also very open to parents’ suggestions on anything related to the school.”

“No great shakes..quite dull and dreary according to me. but then it’s a matter of personal choice and parent’s comfort level. “

“its a good school, managed by expert minds. has its usp as a niche segment.” ( reviews  from parentree website)

“My son is currently studying in Shalom hills School gurgaon. but i am not satisfied with the school..the school has good vision and intentions but lacks quality teachers…can any of you please suggest a better school in gurgaon? How are the DPSs in gurgaon??”

( from imom network)

70 Responses to "Review Of Shalom Hills International School, Sushant Lok 1, Gurgaon"

was going thru the feedback…lot of controversy on the school..would like to say one simple thing …never follow the herd ..shalom hills is ‘the school’ in gurgaon because of every child is given personal attention from the management to the staff

Anything popular becomes controversial in todays scenario.
My granddaughter was in one of the best schools in Pune. When my son was transferred to Gurgaon all of us were worried only about the school and nothing else. She was only 3 and a half and we were confused as each of our neighbours suggested a new name . My daughter –in-law was so reluctant to even venture into this exercise. By chance I happened to spot this unique building on one of my visits to Sai temple.
As I entered the gate the courteous guard not only made an entry but also guided me as to whom I should approach. The warmth I received at every step I took inside the campus was too overwhelming that I instantly decided this was the place our ‘bundle of joy’. would be during our stint in Gurgaon. Believe me it is over four years now, my chirpy little grand daughter now in class III brings home a sticker for Best discipline, best uniform, star performer ….. each day accompanied with a story for each. Thanks to her teachers, she solves crosswords every day and aspires to take part in Spell Bee show. As a parent I’m able to clearly see the transformation in my child which has come only due to the perfect grooming Shalom Hills has selflessly done, is doing and will continue to do for every child wrapped under her wings.
God Bless this wonderful Institution.
…………..A proud Grandmother

Thanks for your feedback, It would be great if you can also throw some light on teaching methodology/pattern. Like the amount of burden of books on chidlren & pressure on parents for the HW & tests etc. The focus of school on academics in proportion to the extra curricular activities.

Hi Akanksha
The school does not focus on extra curricular much. HW is give daily. Sometime 2 homeworks for class kg child. daughter gets up at 6:15 and comes back by 3 pm! she is just 4 plus.

Mr Arora, please let me know it the class has more than 35-40 students with 2 teachers that too in nursery(M!2&3) with atleast 4-5 sub sections how can the teacher take care of the child, the school do not have less children,however have less teachers,, need to spend a little more on staff than only focus on their net profit

Hi Arun,
I completely agree with what you said about “following the herd”. Most of us do so, not only in the field of education but also in other fields. I would request you to please let me know if your kid studies in Shalom Hills? And Are you satisfied?

hi arun,
please let me know about the quality of care and teaching in more details.
thanks.

If speaking bout little shalom hills opposite pars hospital..the care can be seen on each n evry morning the students are received and the afternoon they are dispersed .at evry step there r teachers guiding the students to the classes..the head (one in sari) herself supervises the stdts boarding the buses in the afternoon..my child is in m1..recently shifted from abroad.. makes me convinced my baby is in right place..n safe hands

my kid is studying and i am not satisfied… i was rather 200% more satisfied with the growth that my kid got when she was in a local school… looks like she has been admitted to lower classes though by the nomenclature it is the next one.

[...] actually following the method what they are talking about? I came across Shalom Hills School (Read About Shalom Hills Here) and discovered that though they have named their classes as Montessori I and Mont II, Mont III, they [...]

my daughter is studing at shrishty montessori school in chennai class U.K.G will this school will be suitable for her.

hi
i have been associated wth this school for past two years as my daughter is studying there.i wud say school really cares for children and teachers are really very nice n helpful as i have bin away but i was in regular touch wth my daughters class teacher n coordinator who were so propmt in sending me my daughters performance n her piks time to time n kept me updated.
i m pretty much satisfied wth shalom hills and their teachers n request their staff to be more n more loving n caring towards children

Thanks for stopping by my blog Reena. Its great to see you have positive review about the school. Infact one of my other friend, whose kid study in Shalom Hills, too feels the same.

Things are not really exactly same when you get the inside story… do they really care for your kid… try to ask this question again from your kid and you would get other answer…

The views from father are confusing. So conflicting reviews that it is difficult to make mind because kids future is at stake.

Could someone let me know, if they give some emphasis to communication skill for students.

Hi Monika
I blv all schools do cater to the need ofenhancing the communication skills. Howeve, if you feel, your child needs some more prodding, pls address the concern to the teacher. This shd resolve the issue.

Thanks for the response.

can anybody let me know about their daycare?? fees etc.

Hi preeti,
They are not providing day care facility any more.
Even I want to put my child in this school, but could not due to non availability of day care.

Pls let me knw if you have some solution to it.

thanks Monica… wll let u know if I find any suitable daycare… My daughter.

Shalom Hills International School, Gurgaon.. I truly agree with one of the parents comments.. “its a good school, managed by expert minds.

Thats True..

My experience to Shalom International school is through the window provided during the All School exhibition held at Apparel house, Gurgaon. I ran through different schools which I had in my mind before entering the hall, but none other than Shalom created interest in me. The reason and credit goes to Ms Shilpa, representing Shalom who occupied a corner pavilion. The Big Branded schools were handling two/three/four parents at a time in which I could see parents returning totally dissatisfied including me. I turned my walk towards the Shalom and Ms Shilpa was able to answer and explain to me in detail about the school and education method being applied on.

I honestly believe the entire Shalom faculty will be taking care of students by paying close attentions towards each student.

Dear all, we see anywhere and everywhere schools and schools coming up in Gurgaon. Rather than going behind any branded name please get into a school where personal attention is being devoted. Apart from regular books I came to understand about the extra curricular activities being promoted which plays a greater role personality development of the student in future.

Still the decision is Yours, just thought giving some suggestion through my experience.

Thanks
Vinod

I completely agree with you Mr. Vinod about going by brand name. This is my experience with Shalom.
We moved from Delhi in January 2008 to our new abode in Nirvana. We were very new to the area and were looking for a school for our two year old toddler. It was at that time we noticed a new construction coming up in in our neighborhood which we were told was a nursery school. Though initially we refused to believe, it was a true when we saw tiny tots with smart denim tunics toddled one fine April morning.
Truly we entered the premises only because it was too close to our house- a luxury we can only dream of in a place like Delhi & Gurgaon. We also opted only for a provisional admission. I call it providence. Now this is my daughter’s third year in Shalom, I’m amazed seeing the confidence with which the she converses, writes and above all showing a keen interest in reading. Last year while in nursery she was a part of the ‘Shalom Darshini’- Annual craft exhibition in the Senior wing which was an unbelievable experience even for grown ups like us. She took part in the Graduation Ceremony for the seniors. The unique feature about the school is the 100% participation of children.
Now its time for us to decide where to put her in a regular stream, we have no confusions at all. Shalom is our choice and we have already enrolled her for Class I. We can’t possibly ask for more. Hats off! Shalom , with such a proactive and supportive management you will very soon scale the summit of excellence.
…………………rvg

Can someone suggest the Fee structure for Shalom Hills Internation School for the toddler program.

Respected Sir/Madam,

I am Justin Raja Kumar, I have two kinds, elder one daughter with 4 + yrs age and younger one is 2 months bay baby. I am a Software configuration Manager as I am working with Hughes systique Corporation at Gurgaon, Info city II, Sector – 33.

Basically I belongs from Tamilnadu, due to some official transer since June 2010 still am here at Gurgaon (C-2421, Sushant Lok ‘C’ Block, Phase – I, Near Gold Souk).

My elder daughter she has finished her play home and Pre-nursery has been completed as Kidzee center (Gurgaon and Bangalore). As per the prior with her highlevel education that we need a admission for my daughter. Now she is not here, due the second delivery she is staying with her monther at TamilNadu. She is coming back on June – 2011. Kindly I requst you to what is the procedure to her education will start from June – 2011. I need your help with urgent basis. This is my humble request.

Please help me this my humble request.

Regards,
Justin

Dear Justin
If you would like to continue in Kidzee then you would have to talk to Kidzee school and I am sure they would accomodate. But if you want to put her to a formal school then she would have to give some kind of admission test, plus you would need her school leaving certificate and would have to try in various schools nearlby like Chiranjeeve Bharti school etc if t know about the admission procedure. I suggest you do the homework of going to all the nearby schools beforehand only. Talk to the principals, explain your situation, it works.

Hi All,

I m looking for a good school near Sushant Lok -1, Gurgaon for my son who is to be admitted in KG. Could pls suggest me which the best school around teaching good academics, values and extra curricular.

Regards,
Mujeeb Ahmed.

Shalom Hills always does things with style and lots of emotions and feelings which was evident in the class photograph for the last session.
The quality and style of the photograph was really classy and of international standards.
My family will cherish this class photograph of my child and look forward to collecting many more such masterpieces in the years to come.
Kudos! to the creative mind that planned these photographs.

Today in Gurgaon we have plenty of schools, some who are also known as branded schools, my child too was in one of the leading schools in gurgaon but i had a terrible eperience and i took a call on moving him to Shalom Hills when i had so many options apart from this school. But i am glad that the school is always been tru to its commitment of providing all that they do.
You will be glad to send your child to a school that provides quality education, along with high standards of values. one can feel the warmth of love and care in every corner of the school no matter which class your child is in.
GO FOR IT!

Can any one please tell me which school is better shalom hills or Suncity world school?

Hi parentingfundas,
First of all, you’re doing such a great job here, thanks. I’m moving from London to Gurgoan next month (Dec). I’m looking for a decent school for my daughters (nursery and class 3) preferably IB board. As most of the good schools’ve closed admissions now. I found I can get admission in Banyan Tree and Shloam Hills school but there are so many mixed reviews about these schools that I’m getting more n more confused.

Kindly help me and suggest your opinions about these schools or any other good schools in Gurgoan. My priorties are a nice, loving and comfortable environment for my girls as this is going to be a major change for them.
thanks, Saloni

Hi.. I m shifting to Gurgaon and actually worried about my son who is about to up grated in standard 6th. I have been to couple of schools but every school got something to offer as their USP which makes difficulties to parents to go for right school. Parents got mix opinion about each school which is solely based on their ward performance indeed. Parents of dull kids are not happy with schools whereas proud parents of bright kids run out of word while apprising such schools. I went to shalom hills for enquiry and I must say it clicked me although school is small and they don’t hv much larger space for play ground, well my society got enough space for my kids to play therefore my major concern is his study so I would like to hv true picture from those parents whose wards are already going to SHIC. trust my choice of selecting SHIC for my ward is right.

thanks.

Hi,

i am planning to shift to gurgoan please suggest me cbse schools near sector 56 or sector 46.sonali

dear all, i am looking for a good day care for my 2 yr old kid. a we both parents are working, we need to leave him for 9 am to 7 pm approx.
thanks in advance!

Try Toddlers Junction in sector 57 Gurgaon or Medhaam in south city.

dear all, i am looking for a good day care urgently for my 2 yr old kid.(any where in Gurgaon will do),
As we both parents are working, we need to leave him for 9 am to 7 pm ie. approx for 9-10 hrs.
Thanks in advance!

Shalom Hills School Gurgaon Review – My son studies in this school and I found it to be good. The buildings are well maintained, impeccably clean, nice helpful teachers who take good care of children.

Only thing bad about it is that they preach only about their MD madam. One short stroll around any of the buildings you will find numerous pictures of 1 lady with students or her school days preaching about her greatness.

On their annual event, the host of the function kept on telling us just about their MD madam…’As our MD madam says’, ‘Our mams philosophy is’ etc. etc….And this view is shared every parent that I have spoken to.

I hope they will look into this and take some remedial action unless it is one man show run by this lady only…….

thanks for your review. i have a lot of positive review about the school. how are they in teaching and what about extracirriculars like debates etc? please let me know.

I completely agree with you. Even the website is full of her pictures. But if she is making a good institution,nothing bad about it, How is school,I would love to know.

i have met that lady and found her really influencing in communication…my kids are yet to enter that school and will have better view…MD has simple firm and beautiful mind but it is important to see in the school teachers too…

The students and parents participated with great enthusiasm to make this event very successful. On the Annual Day, it was like little angles coming down from Heaven dancing all over the place, making a way into our heart. I am falling short of word to express how I felt that day. It was amazing. I loved almost everything about the Annual Day.

Vinod Unnikrishnan

Is it good in sports facilities for older chil
dern,any idea?

The captioned show which happened on the 10th of Dec 2011, in which I was fortunate to be one of the proud parents as spectator was a real spectacular one.
My ward, who happens to be a student of Class I was given an opportunity to be the first to announce a show , in which she was also one of the participants. The effort from your team for giving each and every student equal opportunity is quite praiseworthy.

All the shows were unique and showed all-round talents of the students, which was also the reason for the schools getting so many awards and accolades in all its inter-school participations.
Manoj Kumar

Could anyone tell me how Shalom Hills is for older kids? I am looking for to admit my girls to class 6 and 8 respectiely

yes…n gud too…

Great conversation about Shalom Hills International School. It definitely makes me consider it actively for my daughter who will be entering nursery in the next session. I agree that when something or someone becomes popular there will always be controversies. All said and done, parents and family are the first teachers for the child, and we cannot depend 100% on any school for his/her development.

Just recently visited Shalom Hill School Gurgaon for my son to enroll into this school. Counselor explained the things in very sober and polite way but i don’t have much information rather than this. Fees structure is also seems high. They invited us to come to school in weekdays. Could anyone please provide some true feedback about the school because i have to decide in this session only.

Thanks
Anju

Dear Anju
My child goes to Shalom and I an NOT satisfied. Why? Because they burden the kids with studies, no recreation activity and it has a typical convent-education type approach. Running over too many things too fast. Going to speak to the principal before pulling out though. Thanks

hi parentngfundas..i wud like to ask you abt shalom hills school. in yr 2010 may 7th..u have expressed this school as one of best caring and professional school and now u r telling ur child is burdened..why such contrary statements..
please clarify as i need to decide soon about my twins this session and i found the junior wing satisfactory.
is the senior wing more pressurizing

Dear Veenu
From the outset I found the school to be good in 2010, but the child in school in 2011. Now I find the studies are a bit too much. They focus too much on Homework, assignments, written works and less on communication, extra-curricular, sports etc. Each parent has his own views. My brother’s child goes to junior wing and he is satisfied. However I feel my child is introvert and needs a school where she should have teachers who pressurize on speaking up in class and not just focus on academics and booking knowledge. This school is only about bookish knowledge. Hence my reviews. Lets see how it goes. All the best.

Hello Parentingfundas,
thanks for posting reviews about Shallom hills. I would like to know as you are thinking to change the school , which school you have chossen for your kid. Do you think Heritage or shikshantar would be good choice in long run..keeping in mind that their focus on academics is way less.

Dear Rashmi

Heritage, Shikshantar, Shiv Nadar ( all based on experiential learning) and Suncity , Lotus Valley , Manav Rachna and Scottish High ( all based on academics + extra curricular). I have filled in forms of all for KG and Class I. Lets see where we get admission as its tough to get seat in KG class.

Hello,

Please guide as,We are seeking for my son admission in nursery class for next session in Gurgaon,We have consider 2 shcools

shalom hill international and DPS sector 45

Now please guide me which school is good for our kid,As we are very confused.

Thanks
Vicky

Shalom hills international

yeah,i too agree as i have met the principal,staff and even the MD..they are so very confident of their concept and disciplined apart from depending on each other..rest when my kids will have their time among them..picture will get more clear

Shalom Hills Gurgaon Shushant Lok,

Worst school one can get , they dont take retest in case of emergency or what ever, they give average marks to student ………………….so unfair are they palying with kids

My Kid is not well she can not appair for 2nd monthly assesment , i requested teacher to take her test later when she jions back in writting ,they simply refused………………………………….my six year has prepared for assesment at home while sick……………..its so disheartenning for her & me as welll………………..

Shame on this shit school……………………………………………..

Did you talk to the principal?

Shalom Hills very poor standard

Never actually thought that it would be such a nightmare getting admission for my boy into a formal school in Gurgaon.

My son is going in Sr KG at Kidzee right now but its getting too hard for him to earn a seat in class Ist in any formal school.

Currenlty confused between Shalom Hills and Manav Rachna international Sec – 46.

Please anyone let me know which one is best for him.

Manav Racha has a better infrastructure ( swimmingpool, horseriding, games etc) than Shalom

Thanks every one for giving feedback above, i have read all & they are really helpful in deciding over the choice of school.
But after doing my own research since about the school for my 4 year old daughter in KG, i realized that the bigger question here in not just picking the right school but the right teaching methodology i wanted for my child.
As in when i speak about the schools like Heritage or Shikhshantar who have progressive approach of schooling that they are not giving the too much of HW & also discouraging the parents to teach children separately, using the SMART classes & other innvative ideas to teach the children sounds good for the kids at initial stage when we really don’t want our little ones to be over burdened but when they will reach the cllases like 7th or 8th when they really have to be prepared for the tough competitions will they be able to cope up?

On the other hand we have schools with traditional or conventional approach of teaching where kids have heavy bags with loads of HWs & assignments where even parents actually start doing it on behalf of their kids because they really feel pity for their poor children. Are these schools realy workable in today’s multi tasking world of SMART WORK & not only HARD WORK also when CBSE has already started talking about “Open Book Examination” & have already implemented grading system to keep young teenagers pressure free. I have doubts.

I am really really confused if some one can answer my queries it will be great.

Thanks every one for giving feedback above, i have read all & they are really helpful in deciding over the choice of school.
But after doing my own research since about the school for my 4 year old daughter in KG, i realized that the bigger question here in not just picking the right school but the right teaching methodology i wanted for my child.
As in when i speak about the schools like Heritage or Shikhshantar who have progressive approach of schooling that they are not giving the too much of HW & also discouraging the parents to teach children separately, using the SMART classes & other innvative ideas to teach the children sounds good for the kids at initial stage when we really don’t want our little ones to be over burdened but when they will reach the cllases like 7th or 8th when they really have to be prepared for the tough competitions will they be able to cope up?

On the other hand we have schools with traditional or conventional approach of teaching where kids have heavy bags with loads of HWs & assignments where even parents actually start doing it on behalf of their kids because they really feel pity for their poor children. Are these schools realy workable in today’s multi tasking world of SMART WORK & not only HARD WORK also when CBSE has already started talking about “Open Book Examination” & have already implemented grading system to keep young teenagers pressure free. I have doubts.

I am really really confused if some one can answer my queries it will be great.

Hello Ms. Akanksha, even I have the same query regarding my little one. Even though I don’t want her to go to the run-of-the-mill schools like DAV and DPS, I fear that she won’t be able to cope once she reaches class 8th. So what did you decide ultimately? TIA.

Hi,
My kids Rachit and Avleen have been a part of shalom hills since last 3 years and have shown tremendous improvement in terms of knowledge, communication and confidence. Especially my son (Class 5) had picked up a lot after undergoing the smart class concept. I was impressed to see my
daughter (Class 3) sharing her knowledge about sst concepts which she had gained through activity based teachings and ppts. Study tours learning (like science parks) and inter school participation has made a great difference.

However, a little improvement towards inclusion of variety of games may add more flowers to the bouquet. Rest all fine.
But overall, an increased sense of Inclination and interest towards
the study topics has amazed me. Well done teachers and the staff. Kudos to the school and the management.
Rgds,
Janak R Sethi

shalom hills is no doubt a nice school.teachers and other staff is so supportive and kind.whatever query you have they will respnd with patience and calmness,and try to slve it in best possible manner.teachers will listen to you even for samllest thing it may it be eating habits,about copies,dress or any any thing.the best thing is dairy is checked daily and notices(by us)are aknowledged and answered.in bus also teachers also take care of kids n hand over the child only to parents or authorised person only,

really school management gives special attention to every student.school safey is supp

Hello all,
My daughter has been studying in Shalom School For last five years and i m too worried abt the fee increment every year. it just got more than double in last five year. My son is studying in Amity and i m Paying there just Half of it and they are even not increasing it like shalom does… hardly Rs. 100/- every year monthly. but Shalom people says they will increase @ 10% (Rs. 450/- monthly) every year.do they have right to put this much increment on fee.
need suggestions.

Hi ,

Can any one please let me know if shalom hills accept a fees through debit/credit card facility ?

thanks

Hi Parenting fundas! Good review of Shalom Hills!

So finally which schools you have chosen for your kid? How is it?

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 1,385,649 hits

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 761 other followers

Twitter Updates

  • Good News For Expectatnt Moms: Dear Expectant Mothers and and also friends of Expectant parents, Please visit us... bit.ly/T4kLcH 1 year ago
  • : Looking for cloth diapers in Gurgaon. bumGenius award winning cloth diapers are now available with Mums N Munc... bit.ly/Q1cOyD 2 years ago
  • Things To Look For While Buying A Pram or Stroller: Many factors conspire to make this particular purchase a hig... bit.ly/QqNj9o 2 years ago
  • Diapers Are A Mom’s Best Friend: Disposable v/s Cloth Diapers Diapers are a mom’s best friend, undoubtedly. Once... bit.ly/QNzB5L 2 years ago
  • Maternity Or Pregnancy pillows!: To sleep peacefully during pregnancy is quite a task because of sudden weight g... bit.ly/NEZB2y 2 years ago
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 761 other followers

